Skip to content
Vivo logo
← All articles

Subcutaneous Needle Size: Gauge, Length and How to Choose

Subcutaneous Needle Size: Gauge, Length and How to Choose

Abstract illustration of needle gauge and length

Most subcutaneous injections use a short, thin needle. For vaccines, the CDC specifies a 23 to 25 gauge needle, 5/8 inch (16 mm) long. For insulin and other self-administered medications, shorter and finer needles are common. The right size for any one person depends on the medication, the injection site, and the thickness of the fat layer under the skin. The product label and the prescribing provider decide the final answer.

This guide explains what gauge and length mean, lists the ranges clinical sources publish, and sets out how body type and technique change the choice. It also covers the questions readers search most often, including whether a 25G, 23G, 5/8-inch or 1-inch needle is appropriate.

Vivo ClinicChoose Your Injection With GuidanceVivo Clinic offers provider-supervised treatments and a personalized selection process, so discuss medication instructions with your prescribing provider.Explore treatment options

TL;DR

  • Published ranges for subcutaneous needles are roughly 23 to 25 gauge and 5/8 inch for vaccines, 26 to 31 gauge and 13 to 16 mm for many other subcutaneous drugs, and 29 to 32 gauge and 4 to 13 mm for insulin.
  • A higher gauge number means a thinner needle. Length matters more than gauge for reaching the correct tissue.
  • A needle that is too long risks reaching muscle. One that is too short may deposit medication in the skin. Skin pinching or an angled insertion can compensate in some patients.
  • Product labeling can specify a particular needle, so a general chart never replaces the instructions that come with your prescription.
  • Confirm size, site and technique with the licensed provider who prescribed the medication.

Table of Contents

What gauge and length mean

A needle has two measurements, and they do different jobs.

Gauge describes the diameter of the needle shaft. The scale runs in reverse: the larger the gauge number, the smaller the shaft. A 30G needle is therefore thinner than a 25G needle. Thinner needles generally cause less discomfort, but very thin needles can be slower to push through thick or viscous liquids.

Length is the distance from the tip to the hub, given in inches or millimeters. Common subcutaneous lengths include 4 mm, 6 mm, 8 mm, 5/16 inch (about 8 mm), 3/8 inch (about 10 mm), 1/2 inch (about 13 mm) and 5/8 inch (about 16 mm). Length determines depth, so it determines which tissue receives the medication.

The color of the hub can look like a standard, but it is not universal. Color coding varies by manufacturer, so read the printed gauge and length on the package rather than relying on color.

Why length is the critical measurement

Subcutaneous means “under the skin”: the medication is meant to land in the fatty layer between the skin and the muscle. Two errors are possible.

  • Too short or too shallow: the dose can end up in the skin itself (intradermal), which may cause a raised bump, leakage or a different absorption pattern.
  • Too long or too deep: the dose can reach muscle (intramuscular). For some drugs, such as insulin, this changes absorption speed and can make the effect less predictable.

The CDC frames needle selection as a matter of tissue targeting. Its vaccine guidance says the choice should account for route, age, adult sex and weight, injection site and technique, using clinical judgment, so the medication reaches the intended tissue and injection-site reactions are reduced.

Typical subcutaneous needle sizes by use

Different organizations publish different ranges because they describe different products and patient groups. The table summarizes the checked figures.

Use Typical gauge Typical length Source basis
Subcutaneous vaccines (all ages) 23 to 25 G 5/8 inch (16 mm) CDC
Insulin delivery 29 to 32 G 4 to 13 mm BD injection technique guidance
Other subcutaneous injections 26 to 31 G 13 to 16 mm BD injection technique guidance
Insulin pen needle, adults and children Not specified 4 mm Mayo Clinic Proceedings recommendations
Insulin syringe needle, all patients Not specified 6 mm Mayo Clinic Proceedings recommendations

The sources behind each row:

The pattern is consistent: a vaccine-style 5/8-inch needle is the upper end of common subcutaneous lengths, and modern self-injection practice trends toward shorter, finer needles.

Common questions about specific sizes

Can a 25G needle be used for subcutaneous injection?

Yes. A 25 gauge needle sits within the CDC’s 23 to 25 gauge range for subcutaneous vaccines, and it is within the broader 26 to 31 gauge range that BD describes as common for non-insulin subcutaneous drugs at the thicker end. Whether it suits a particular medication depends on the product’s viscosity, the label and patient comfort.

Is a 23G needle appropriate?

Yes, for the settings where it is specified. The CDC’s subcutaneous vaccine guidance includes 23 gauge at the thicker end of the range. For routine self-injection, many patients are given finer needles, because a thinner shaft is usually more comfortable and the medication is often a thin aqueous solution.

Can a 5/8-inch needle be used?

Yes. It is the CDC’s standard length for subcutaneous vaccines. The CDC’s procedure inserts it at a 45-degree angle and notes that pinching up the skin may be necessary to make sure the dose reaches subcutaneous tissue. That detail matters: the length is acceptable because the technique is matched to it.

Is a 1-inch needle too long?

For most routine subcutaneous injections, yes, it is longer than any range published in the sources above. One inch is about 25 mm, which is well beyond the 16 mm upper end of the CDC and BD figures. The CDC’s best-practice guidance describes intramuscular needles as needing to be long enough to reach the muscle but not so long as to involve nerves, blood vessels or bone, and 1-inch needles are typically associated with that intramuscular role. A 1-inch needle used subcutaneously, particularly at a 90-degree angle in a lean patient, makes muscle penetration more likely. Anyone who has been supplied a 1-inch needle for a subcutaneous medication should ask the dispensing pharmacy or prescriber to confirm that it is intended, since it may be a draw-up needle rather than an injection needle.

Draw-up needles versus injection needles

Some medications are supplied as vials, and a person may need to draw the dose into a syringe before injecting. Instructions for hormone and similar self-injections sometimes call for two needles: a larger gauge needle to withdraw the liquid from the vial and a finer one, such as 25 or 26 gauge and 5/8 inch, to inject. Using a fresh, finer needle for the injection itself is a common approach, because a needle that has pierced a vial stopper can be dulled.

Separate draw-up and injection needle components

The CDC’s subcutaneous vaccine procedure also stresses a new, separate needle and syringe for each injection. Needles and syringes are single-use equipment. Reuse raises the risk of infection and increases pain, since the tip dulls after the first puncture.

How body type and site change the choice

Subcutaneous fat is not uniform. It is thicker on the abdomen and thighs in many people and thinner on the upper arm, and it varies with body mass, sex and age.

Three adjustments appear in clinical guidance:

  1. Shorter needles for slim patients or children. The Mayo Clinic Proceedings recommendations note that children and slim adults may need a lifted skinfold or alternative technique even with short needles.
  2. Skin pinching. The CDC procedure says pinching up the skin may be necessary to ensure subcutaneous delivery with a 5/8-inch needle. Pinching lifts the fat away from the muscle below.
  3. Insertion angle. The CDC specifies 45 degrees for the 5/8-inch vaccine needle. Shorter needles of 4 to 6 mm are generally used at 90 degrees, with a pinch for lean patients, as the insulin guidance describes.

Where to inject matters as much as what to inject with. Our guide to semaglutide pen injection sites and rotation explains why rotating sites helps keep the tissue healthy, and the same principle applies to any repeated subcutaneous injection.

One technique point is often misunderstood. The CDC says aspiration before a subcutaneous vaccine injection is not necessary because no large blood vessels are present at the recommended sites, and aspiration can increase pain. That statement applies to the recommended vaccine sites, so follow the instructions for your own medication.

Why the product label comes first

Charts are useful for orientation, but they describe populations and categories. A specific medication may come with its own device, needle, angle and site. FDA-approved labeling shows this clearly: the 2025 Camcevi label supplies an 18-gauge, 5/8-inch needle and requires a 90-degree abdominal subcutaneous injection into sufficient soft or loose tissue. That is thicker than the typical self-injection needle, and the angle differs from the CDC’s vaccine guidance. The reason is product-specific.

The practical point: whenever the medication, pen or kit includes a needle and instructions, those instructions override a general chart. The same principle applies to educational material on research compounds. For example, SS-31 dosage protocol guidance shows how needle length, angle and injection site can be specified alongside a protocol, which is why those details should be read together rather than separately.

Perspective: how we approach needle selection

At Vivo Clinic, we work with prescription therapies that are compounded by licensed U.S. pharmacies and prescribed after a provider review. Several of those therapies, including injectable NAD+ and glutathione, are subcutaneous or are given by routes where equipment details matter. We treat needle selection as part of the prescription, not as a separate shopping decision.

That has three practical consequences. First, supplies and instructions should come from the dispensing pharmacy and the supervising provider, so the needle matches the formulation and the volume. Second, a patient’s build, injection site and experience with self-injection are legitimate reasons to adjust the plan, and they belong in a conversation with the provider. Third, we encourage patients to avoid improvising with leftover equipment or with needles sold for a different purpose. A length or gauge that is correct for a vaccine or insulin may not be correct for another drug.

We also think routes should be a real part of treatment selection. Some people choose a nasal spray or a cream specifically to avoid needles, and for others an injection is the better fit clinically. Neither choice is universally better, and a provider can help weigh them.

— Jack

Choosing a needle: a checklist

Before the first injection, confirm the following with the prescriber or dispensing pharmacist:

  • Which needle is supplied or specified? Gauge and length should appear on the package.
  • What injection site and angle are intended? Abdomen, thigh and upper arm can differ in fat depth.
  • Is a skin pinch needed? This is more likely with lean build or longer needles.
  • Is there a separate draw-up needle? If so, which one is for drawing and which is for injecting?
  • How should used needles be discarded? Use an approved sharps container as the provider or pharmacy directs.

Seek prompt advice from a licensed provider if you notice persistent lumps, bleeding that does not stop, spreading redness, warmth or fever after an injection. Seek emergency care for signs of a severe allergic reaction, such as trouble breathing or swelling of the face or throat.

Needle-free and injectable options at Vivo

Not every therapy requires a needle. Our NAD+ nasal spray is listed at $129 per month, and our glutathione nasal spray at $149 per month. For patients whose provider determines that an injectable is appropriate, we also offer NAD+ injection and glutathione injection, both compounded and prescription only. Our tirzepatide and semaglutide program is listed at $199 per month. In each case, a licensed provider reviews your intake before any prescription is issued, and ongoing oversight continues while you are on treatment.

If you are considering glutathione by injection, our article on glutathione side effects and the 2026 U.S. recall covers the safety questions to raise first.

FAQ

What needle do you use for a subcutaneous injection?

It depends on the medication. For vaccines the CDC specifies 23 to 25 gauge and 5/8 inch, while insulin commonly uses finer, shorter needles of 29 to 32 gauge and 4 to 13 mm. Always use the needle named in your medication’s instructions or provided by your pharmacy.

Does a higher gauge number mean a smaller needle?

Yes. Gauge numbers run opposite to diameter, so a 31G needle is thinner than a 25G needle. Thinner needles are usually more comfortable, but length is what determines whether the medication reaches subcutaneous tissue.

Can I reuse a needle for a second injection?

No. Needles and syringes are intended for single use, and the CDC’s subcutaneous procedure calls for a new, separate needle and syringe for every injection. Reuse increases infection risk and dulls the tip.

Is a shorter needle always better?

Not always. Shorter needles of 4 to 6 mm lower the risk of intramuscular injection for many patients, and Mayo Clinic Proceedings recommendations favor them for insulin. A needle that is too short for the patient or the technique can leave medication in the skin, so the choice should be confirmed with the prescriber.

Who should I ask about my needle size?

Ask the prescribing provider or the dispensing pharmacist. They know the formulation, the volume and the product labeling, and they can adjust for your build and injection site.

Sources